25
Oct
08

Rocky Mountain Honesty

Since my recent move to everyone’s favorite square state (sorry Wyoming), people often ask me what I think is the biggest difference between my new home and my previous home of southern California.  The answer is this:

Yesterday, when I was working at the ol’ bookstore, my manager got on the P.A. system and made this announcement to the entire store:

“Attention Barnes & Noble customers, there is a black Nissan Altima, license plate number JBY402 parked in the handicap spot out front, and it is currently running.  If the owner of that car is in the store, please be informed that your car is running.  Thank you.”

Here’s the difference: in my old neck of the woods, that announcement would translate thusly:

“Attention, potential car thieves: put down that copy of DUB Magazine you’re currently leafing through, ’cause I got a gimme for you.  There’s a black Nissan in the parking lot, and it’s up for grabs.  I repeat: FREE CAR.  The keys are in the ignition, and there ain’t nobody in it.  Blue book value on this one’s probably around seven or eight thou, minimum.  Plus it’s in a handicap spot, so if you’ve got two decent legs, chances are you can beat out whoever it is that actually owns it.  So ready, set, have at it.

…and thanks for shopping at Barnes & Noble.”

5 Responses to “Rocky Mountain Honesty”


  1. 1 mattvaudrey
    October 30, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Sounds like Eastern Washington. You put on a turn signal and people slow down to let you in. It’s like Narnia, without all the fawns n’ shit.

    I’m still a little steamed that Christy didn’t read my damn post. She probably searched for “Varsity Fanclub best band ever Tennessee Ernie Ford” and got my blog. She’s probably 13.

    How do I make a photo appear next to my name when I post comments n’ shit?
    ~VP

  2. 2 jay
    April 7, 2010 at 8:38 am

    i love this group right here u dont even know it was a disapointment to c that they aint toghther

  3. May 29, 2013 at 3:44 am

    Hi mates, good paragraph and good arguments commented at this place, I am actually enjoying by
    these.

  4. June 17, 2013 at 2:34 am

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I may I wish to counsel you few attention-grabbing things or suggestions. Maybe you can write subsequent articles referring to this article. I want to learn even more issues about it!

  5. June 27, 2013 at 1:15 am

    What you published was very reasonable. However, what
    about this? suppose you were to create a killer headline?
    I ain’t suggesting your information is not good, however suppose you added something to maybe grab a person’s attention?
    I mean Rocky Mountain Honesty | Life Out Of The Bubble is a little plain.
    You ought to look at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create post headlines to grab viewers interested. You might try adding a video or a picture or two to get people interested about what you’ve
    got to say. Just my opinion, it would bring your blog a little livelier.


Leave a Reply

