09
Nov
07

No way you’re never gonna shake me

Here’s how it happened:

You know how sometimes you can have a dream where something in that dream is so realistic that it actually wakes you up? That happened this morning. I don’t even remember the dream. I just remember that at some point in the dream, I felt my phone vibrate in my pocket, and it woke me up. It jolted me up, actually. I checked my alarm and realized that it was about twenty or so minutes before it was set to go off, so instead of going back to sleep, I just kind of sat there for a while, thinking. That’s when it hit.

“Doo doo doop, dum, doo doo doop da doop da daaauwm…”

You know how sometimes a song can just pop into your head unannounced and stick there for the entire day? Here I am, minding my own business, sitting in the comfort of my own bed when Mariah Carey decides she needs to start belting out “Always Be My Baby” in my head at 7:00 in the morning. Completely unrequested. So I did what anyone would do if faced with that situation. I reached for my iPod to play it out. For me, it’s the only thing that works. If I wanted to get rid of that song, I was going to have to ride that wave till it broke on the shore.

So I’m sitting upright in my bed, bouncing my head and tapping my feet under the covers to one of 1996’s great pop tunes, thinking that once it was over, I’d be free to go about my day as usual, no big deal. Then came the second wave.

See, as I was scrolling through my iPod to get to Mariah Carey, I noticed something else that I have on it. Something that, no matter how hard I try, I can’t seem to get rid of. It’s something I try to stay away from, but once in a while, it rears its ugly head at me, and tempts me into playing it. It’s something that I’m kind of ashamed of, simply because there’s a lot of people out there that sort of look down upon it, or think that it’s not so good. Not too many people know I have this on my iPod (not too many people know I have Mariah Carey on my iPod either, but those who know me well could probably guess) and I’d kind of like to keep it that way.

So to continue the metaphor, here comes this big ol’ wave, and I’m nipples deep in the water, trying to decide what to do about it.

“Just play it,” I say to myself. “There’s nothing that wrong with it, in fact, there are people out there that like it.”

“Yeah, crazy people,” I thought, and I hopped out of bed. But it kept plaguing me. There I was, standing in the shower, and all I could think about was this one thing. “It’s not right,” I thought. “Not now. I shouldn’t even have it on my iPod anyway.”

“C’mon, it’s not that bad,” I say. “Just do it. That’s the only way it’ll go away.”

“If it wasn’t for that stupid Mariah Carey song,” I think, “I wouldn’t even have this problem in the first place.” I’m torn. I knew it wasn’t going to go away on its own, that eventually I was going to have to play it out anyway, and that soon enough, it was going to be inescapable. I also knew that once I started, it was going to be really hard to stop, which is what made my situation so difficult.

While I was walking to work, I did it. I scrolled right back there, and I pushed play. It was inevitable, and even though it may not have been “right,” once I actually did it, I’m ashamed to say I felt pretty good. Who knows, maybe by the end of the day I’d even be happy I did it. Either way, I decided that, just like with Mariah, I’d ride the wave.

And that’s how I started listening to Christmas music this year.

2 Responses to “No way you’re never gonna shake me”


  1. 1 father of ex roomate
    November 13, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Christmas music should never, never, be played before thanksgiving. Period. You should know that bye now. You are an adult. You must try and live by the rules of society. I wish I had known that you would be this way before I let my own flesh and blood room with you.

    Go bengals

  2. 2 andygraham
    November 14, 2007 at 1:04 am

    In fairness to me, much of the knowledge of Christmas music that I have comes from that “flesh and blood” of which you speak. Frankly, if not for your own very bloodline, I would have no idea what a Jingle Cat was, nor would I know all the lyrics to “What Do You Get A Wookie For Christmas (When He Already Owns A Comb)?” So that’s the first part of my defense. Secondly, it was just one day. I’ve since regressed, and gone back to holding the the traditional societal rule of which you speak (a rule which, might I add, with the help of red Starbucks cups on November 1, is changing quickly). Anyway, the long and short of it is, I think I’ll be able to hold out for another week or so, after which I’ll be able to enjoy the “unique” brand of Christmas music that I was introduced to by a Johnson just like yourself.

    Go Bengals also.


Leave a Reply

