17
Oct
07

Rejected! (Part 2)

Dear Writer,

We don’t know of anyone who hasn’t had work returned at one time or another, but that certainly doesn’t make it any easier. We hope you will find some consolation in the individuality of editorial tastes and in the assurance that, with persistence, good work will be recognized as such.

Thank you for trying us.

The Editors

******************************************

Numero dos. This one less creative, less wordy, and certainly less personal than the first, which I didn’t really think was possible. At the Santa Monica Review, they print three rejections on a page, cut the page, and send you just a tiny little slice of denial. It makes it a little more real that way. Someone who works at the Santa Monica Review, someone who works at a desk just like me, and probably gets bored just like me, prints out a stack of those pages, and then spends a few minutes going through and slicing up mass-produced rejection. They’re hand cut, too, you can tell. Pure scissor job. The cut isn’t really that straight (careless bastards) which means that whoever is doing the cutting is probably daydreaming about something else, not necessarily considering the act of rejecting that they’re doing.

And that is what’s happening. It’s strange to think that someone sat down, read the entirety of what I wrote, the dozens of pages of it, truly and honestly considered it, and came to the conclusion that it was “not what they were looking for.” This, my little baby, that I carefully crafted and considered, was not good enough, and just became another stack of papers to go through the shredder.

It sounds like I’m more disappointed about it than I really am. Honestly, for me, sending it off is further than I’d typically go, so that’s a moderate accomplishment in itself. Life is full of rejection, and considering I recently went through the process of applying for a job, rejection is pretty much par for the course these days. I’m not heartbroken about it, the world isn’t going to end, it’s just something I did. Now I can say I tried, which is the first step, and if I ever get ballsy, if I ever really want to push it to the limit, heck, I could try again. I guess we’ll see about that.

0 Responses to “Rejected! (Part 2)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

